ABOUT US

District 3 Governance Structure

Executive Council: This council is composed of the current District Director, District President, District Vice-President, District Treasurer, District Secretary and the past District Director.  This Council is responsible for the day to day operations and governance of the MAATA.

 

 

District Council
This council is composed of all state presidents within the MAATA as well as the Executive Council. This group is responsible for long term planning and strategic initiative with in the District.

Katie Flanagan.jpg

District Director

Katie Walsh Flanagan, EdD, LAT, ATC

Professor and Director of Athletic Training Education

East Carolina University

Flanagank@ecu.edu    

252-737-4561

READ BIO

Valentine_Donita_Headshot.pdf.jpg

District Vice President

Donita Valentine, DAT, ATC, LAT

Calvin Coolidge High School (DC)

 

dvalentine33@gmail.com

READ BIO

SEDORY%2C%20EDWARD%20BIO_edited.jpg

District Treasurer

Jay Sedory, MEd, ATC, EMT-T

United States Marine Corps

 

D3MAATAcfo@gmail.com

Bio Coming Soon

Cole, Steve 1.jpg

District President

Steven L. Cole, MEd, ATC

Cole Consulting Services, Inc. (VA)

stevecole1227@gmail.com

757-869-9324

READ BIO​

Jason - 2019.jpg

District Secretary

Jason Mitchell, MSEd, LAT, ATC

Old Dominion University (VA)

D3sectry@gmail.com

757-683-6462

Bio Coming Soon

JEM_2012_9_26_ PAronson-01_edited.jpg

Past District Director

Patricia A. Aronson, PhD, ATC, LPTA

Lynchburg College


aronson@lynchburg.edu    
434-544-8065

READ BIO

State Presidents

Tina Carrillo.jpg

District of Columbia Athletic Trainers' Association

PRESIDENT

Christina Carillo, MS, ATC

Friendship Collegiate Academy

ccarrillo@friendshipschools.org

Gina P.jpg

Maryland Athletic Trainers' Association

PRESIDENT

Gina Palermo, LAT, ATC

 

ginarpalermo@gmail.com

Baz.jpg

North Carolina Athletic Trainers' Association

PRESIDENT

Jim Bazluki, MAEd, LAT, ATC

Atrium Health

jbazluki@gmail.com

searson_alt.png

South Carolina Athletic Trainers' Association

PRESIDENT

Jeremy R. Searson, PHD, SCAT, ATC

Lexington II School District

Innovation Center

president@scata.org

Chris_Jones_edited.jpg

Virginia Athletic Trainers' Association

PRESIDENT

Chris Jones, MS, LAT, ATC, CSCS

Assistant Athletic Director for Sports Medicine
Head Athletic Trainer, University of Richmond

vatapresident@gmail.com

Z%20Garrett_edited.jpg

West Virginia Athletic Trainers' Association

PRESIDENT

Zach Garrett, DHSc, ATC

Marshall University-Program Director, Athletic Training

Garrett46@marshall.edu